Downey Honors Volunteers

Downey Coordinating Council honors volunteers, installs officers

By Don Wanlass

Story Published: May 28, 2009 at 3:33 PM PDT

Downey Honors Volunteers

DOWNEY — The Downey Coordinating Council honored 27 members for volunteer work during the past year and installed officers for the coming year at the 55th annual Community Service Awards Installation Dinner May 21 at the Event Center here. More than 340 attended, a representative said.

Outgoing President Anne Bayer, who is also the city’s mayor pro tem, was master of ceremonies. Mayor Mario Guerra swore innew officers Leonard Zuniga, president; Barbara Emry, first vice president; Carol Rowland, second vice president; DeeAnna Hampton, secretary; Brenda Warner, treasurer; and Jan Scott, auditor.

Outgoing officers besides Bayer, were Emry, first vice president; Rowland, second vice president; Zuniga, secretary; Downey City Clerk Kathleen Midstokke, treasurer; and Linda Malme, auditor.

The Coordinating Council is composed of individuals and representatives from various civic and community and professional organizations.

The outstanding volunteers of the past year, honored by their respective organizations, were: Marilyn Thomas, American Association of University Women; Deborah Massaglia, Assistance League of Downey; Sally Johnson, Catholic Women’s Guild; Alta Morelli, Christian Women’s Club of Downey; Rick Rodriguez, Downey Chamber of Commerce; Joanna Shull, Downey City Library; and Mary Guzman, Downey Coordinating Council, also representing the Downey Emblem Club and ARC of Southeast Los Angeles County.

Other volunteers honored Were: Marge Lewis, Downey Council PTA HELPS; Pat Vallefuoco, Downey Family YMCA; Lois Wilson, Downey Regional Medical Center; Mike Artherton, Downey Rose Float Association; Paula Mejia, Downey Sister Cities; Bernice Stumps, Downey Symphony Guild; Sharon Lavery, director of the Downey Symphony Orchestra, representing the Downey Symphonic Society; and Harriett Paine, Emergency Preparedness Committee.

More included: Vicki Spearman, Friends of the Downey City Library; Barbara Lamberth, Gangs Out of Downey; Byron Dillon, Keep Downey Beautiful; Linda Malme, Living Help Center; Joan Hoffman, Newcomers Club of Downey; Daniel Gold, Optimist Club of Downey; Nora Ruth Pla, Polio Survivors Association; Julie Helgren, Rancho Los Amigos; David Butler, Together for Hope; Patricia Kotze, Soroptimist International of Downey; Devi Kokaram, Unity in the Community (Treasure Island Homeowners) and Cheryll Olson, Women’s Club of Downey.